Broken of Britain: Say NO! to DLA cuts – how to take part

December 21, 2010

The Broken of Britain is running a campaign on the DLA reform –

…….Members of the public: We may feel quite powerless at times, but there is a lot we can do to maintain the pressure. To do this, follow the steps in this Campaign Resource. The 14th-16th of January 2011 will be the date of The Broken of Britain’s blogswarm, entitled “One Month Before Heartbreak”. The DLA reform consultation end on 14th February, Valentine’s Day, as BendyGirl explains. Between the 14th and 16th, we hope that thousands of people will write – preferably on a disability-related topic – supporting The Broken of Britain and our campaign. If you want to go further, phone your constituency office and ask for a face-to-face meeting with your MP so that you can tell them why they should oppose DLA reform.

NB: Rosemary O’Neill of CarerWatch has another idea for campaigning. If you are unable to protest outside of your home, get your MP to come to you! Phone your constituency office and try to get your MP to visit you at home. The 11th of January is the last date before the DLA reform consultation closes, but you could ask for a home visit on any date up to then if the 11th isn’t possible. MPs are all off from next week until the 10th of January so give them a call at their office to arrange something. Remember, you have a right to see your MP, and if you are not able to make it to see them, they should come to you. When they d visit, sit them down with a cup of tea and tell them your fears of losing DLA…..

Read more at http://thebrokenofbritain.blogspot.com/2010/12/say-no-to-dla-cuts-how-to-take-part.html

4 Responses to “Broken of Britain: Say NO! to DLA cuts – how to take part”


  1. I will sertainly Blog on more than one Disability issue but I might need a little interactive support.

    One massive issue I have is the very seriouse Mental Health Illness I have lived with for 50 years known as Post Traumatic Stress Disorder is proclaimed by many people as A ”NORMAL REACTION TO AN ABNORMAL SITUATION” AS THUS NOT A Mental health Illness mearly a NORMAL REACTION” I have just read this in a write up of a self help book on P.T.S.D. MY 50 year’s of reliving every second of every day of my entire life the most shocking traumas I have endured attempting suicide many times is NOT AN ILLNESS JUST A NORMAL REACTION”. SO THE MASSIVE PANIC ATTACK I had first sunday of August last year where I suddenly after a trigger I charged down the centre of a very busy dual carrageway CHARGING AT TRAFFIC I remember somehow the shocked face of a man looking out of his van window as I charged past him. Well if this is all just a normal reaction please can some new Evil Kaneval prove it. I think not I a’m sitting here traumatised very alone very afraid not part of society in any way shape ore form ”Me my self I a’m” on a different planet to the rest of the world. ever sinse I first endured my first trauma 50 years ago and now it’s said I’m just having a normal reaction It’s no surprise many people take their own life without proper sound diognosis support understanding and even treatment if there is one? just how doe’s treatment square with what is a normal reaction?????

    ATHOS Workers must be well trained in brainwashing techniques right from the gob of Duncan Smith


  2. […] leave a comment » The Broken of Britain is running a campaign on the DLA reform – …….Members of the public: We may feel quite powerless at times, but there is a lot we can do to maintain the pressure. To do this, follow the steps in this Campaign Resource. The 14th-16th of January 2011 will be the date of The Broken of Britain’s blogswarm, entitled “One Month Before Heartbreak”. The DLA reform consultation end on 14th February, Valentine’s Day, as BendyGirl ex … Read More […]

  3. Ian Galloway Says:

    Hi!
    I’m a victim of the DLA cutbacks as I’ve had my DLA stopped and I now stand to lose £200.00pcm! It has had a SERIOUS knock-on effect with my health as now can’t sleep properly (didn’t get much anyway because of my back problem, but getting even less now!), I have to sell my means of transport as I now can’t afford to tax/insure/repair/even run it. It has a couple of faults on it that “I” have to try and fix as I can’t afford to take it to the garage! I can’t sell it with these faults (brakes) as I’ll get even less for it!! I’ve been crying all the time as this money was paying for either any treatments, equipment, keeping my car mobile (and me!). Any left went on the mortgage. I’m now worried that I will have to sell up as I feel I now can’t afford the payments due to this loss of benefit of £200pcm. I was advised by my Doctor that I had to try and keep active otherwise, I’d stiffen up and Rheum Arth would set in quicker/earlier. I couldn’t get employed as no-one was prepared to take the risk of my back going at any time. So I became S/E and that way, if the going got tough, I could ease off and do it at my own pace. Which has been happening frquently and my hours at work are now down to 6 hours a day (a few of them resting between spasms). No employer is going to take me on in this state. I’m om 24mg Fentanyl Patches/Tramadol/Naproxen/Amytripilyne just to get me through the day/night. I’m a walking (barely) disaster waiting to happen. All this because the visiting Doctor saw me while I was “high” on my Meds & not when the effects are wearing off! It is so distressing and I just don’t know what to do. I’ve attempted suicide once before through depression via my illness, I’m getting frightened that I’m bordering the edge again. Can’t these “planks” see just what problems they are creating???

    Ian

  4. celiacoombes Says:

    I am shocked by the callous attitude of conservatives to suffering of britain particularly disabled. their response to even their own cons needs in parliament live is to hit labour for its past and sidestep dealing with any problem brought up even in a year in power wasting precious time . May 5th pips and dla talked in lords. Conservatives just want all disabled peaople to work no reality or reasoning with them at all. I call them deaf adders. and they make me weep now and even more as I see their actions affecting those in the future and they just deaf adders to the cries and hardship. The labour and liberal lords and mps are more compassionate and realistic but conservative mps and lords are just deaf adders to them too.
    I am longterm schitzophrenic and my husband is 3/4 blind has cancer and suffers present memory loss I can no longer do 16 hours work a week as at 57 my medication makes me too tired and I not on porpose get to screamig pitch through tiredness. I caannot retire though til im 66.Even though my husband and I suffer disabilities ther are those who are far worse off which I gathered the billions of pounds off dla would affect the labour and liberal lords mentioning autism perkinsons desease and other diabilities who would also suffer the cuts. It just makes me weep.
    THe con gov are taking more off the diabled then off the banks soo shocking. Why well the banks are bullies who would fight back and take their business to dubai etc so cameran and osbourne target those who cant fight back so strongly the disabled like the bullies cameron and osbourne and many cons are. Its terrible beyond words if theres anything you think I can do email me ideas. I have written to oliver letwin are mp with no success, yours celia


Leave a Reply

